Breakfast rice

Coming up with different ways to use leftover brown rice is a passion of mine. To that end, I cook up the maximum amount allowable in my rice cooker so that I have some brown rice to play with.

I love savory breakfasts, so it is natural for me to consider combining rice with vegetables, eggs, herbs, nut butter, nuts, beans, mustard, salsa, and/or any sauces in the fridge.  Here is one of my combinations.

This recipe uses a microwave oven.

Brown rice with tomato and herbs

I had fresh oregano and almond butter in the fridge, so that’s what I used with great success.

  • cooked brown rice
  • fresh tomato, chopped
  • chopped fresh herbs, such as oregano, parsley, cilantro, thyme, or basil
  • nut butter, such as almond, cashew, or peanut
  • hot sauce or salsa
  • salt
  • pepper
  1. Put the rice, tomato, herbs, nut butter, and hot sauce in a microwaveable dish. Cover and microwave until warmed, 1 to 2 minutes.
  2. Stir to combine the nut butter with the other ingredients. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

 

 

One thought on “Breakfast rice

Leave a Reply

