Green pasta

My relationship with pasta has not always been friendly.  When we’re going to eat pasta at a meal, I usually try to push off the actual cooking of the pasta to someone else (that would be my husband).  Why?  I think it is how persnickety the process is: the long time it takes the water to boil, watching so the water doesn’t boil over, and then trying to find that perfect moment when the noodles aren’t too chalky or too mushy.  Too much to manage or care about.

From Cooking Green by Kate Heyhoe, I just learned how to cook pasta using less energy (a motivator for me).  But guess what?  It’s also easier.  Yay!

Instead of putting a huge pot of water on the stove to boil, you do a switcheroo.  Put the uncooked pasta in the pot, add water to cover by about 1 inch, turn on the heat, and stir occasionally so the pasta doesn’t stick together.  (I sometimes boil some water in my electric water kettle and add that to the pot to hasten the process.) The pasta cooks as the water warms, cutting your cooking time, your energy bill, and your water use.  Sounds like a win-win-win to me!

Now I’m ready for a new pasta recipe:  Does anyone have a recipe using pasta and greens so we can make Green Greens Pasta? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Green pasta

  1. Yes, my “Greens” pasta recipe are many and variable, meaning I add greens that I like: Swiss chard, green preferably, green part and/or stems, cut up in strips with stems narrower than leafy part; or green collards, or kale, also cut in strips; spinach leaves whole; bok choy cut in thicker pieces. I put these greens usually the last four or five minutes before pasta is ready or give spinach or bok choy barely two minutes. Strain pasta and greens. Add good olive oil, grated cheese, pepper and salt to taste. And that’s what’s up to you, and when you can make it more or less healthy with more or less calories! I’ve been known to add thinly sliced peeled cucumber or sliced zucchini also in the last few minutes……

    • Sounds yummy. Thanks for sharing. Appreciate the idea of cooking the greens in the same water as the pasta (another energy saving). I can see topping the dish with sliced jalapeno chiles (fresh or that we canned in vinegar) or our favorite hot sauce to add some heat.

Leave a Reply

