Lettuce in soup? Kale on the grill?

As I’ve blogged before, I volunteer at my local farmers’ market.

My “job” is to help set up the stand and then chat with customers, answering as best I can whatever questions they have and suggesting vegetables they might want to try. That conversation usually leads to the exchanging of recipes, culinary processes, and ideas. I love hearing about new ways to prepare vegetables, from people at the market or from foodie blogs that I read.  Then I share what happened in my kitchen at the market.

Now to the title of this post.  If we’re willing to move over a few degrees, a whole new universe opens up.

This week I read about a woman who had so much lettuce, she didn’t know what to do.  So she made soup!  Who would have thought of doing that?  Only someone willing to take chances, so I was quite impressed.  I added some romaine lettuce leaves to the end of a lentil soup I made, and boy, it was really tasty!

You’ve probably heard of kale chips (bits of kale tossed with oil, seasoned with any herb or spice powder, and roasted at 425° for a few minutes until done the way you like—chewy, soft, or crunchy).  What a fabulous idea, so very yummy, and a great way to get kids interested in vegetables.  I read about someone who tried putting kale leaves whole on the grill.  We tried it, and it is the same amazing flavor as kale chips, only easier.  How creative is that?

The next thing we’re going to try is baby eggplant whole on the grill (we love grilling small zukes whole, so why not eggplant?).

If you’ve tried something new with vegetables, please tell about it!

2 thoughts on “Lettuce in soup? Kale on the grill?

  1. Egg plant on the grill is wonderful. I slice the big ones into hamburger sized rounds. Green beans are really good too. Just a littel olive oil and garlic salt. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

