On the dining-in road

Ten days have flown by (I wrote this on June 11, even though the posting date says June 6) :-(.

I started my 60-day dine-in challenge on Tuesday, June 1.  Since then, my husband cooked me breakfast, we went to a potluck dinner picnic in the park with another couple, and I cooked the rest of the time.  I’m surprised that I’m not already bored with my cooking and this undertaking, but frankly … I’m not!

In fact, I’m quite energized by the idea of not eating commercially prepared food for 60 days and finding creative ways to make easy, healthy, and tasty food.  I feel better—maybe because I’m eating food made with less salt, fat, and sugar and with fresher, healthier ingredients?

A few of the dishes that I’ve prepared since the beginning of the challenge:

  • Romanesco Squash Stuffed With Grains (wheat berries/rye berries/oat groats), soy crumbles (like Good Ground), Chiles, and Veggies
  • Spinach and Black Bean Chilaquiles (based on a recipe by Cathy Erway)
  • Main Course Salad with nuts, tofu, beans, homemade corn chips, sweet peppers, fresh herbs, fresh veggies, and fresh lettuce
  • Steamed Chopped Cauliflower With Olives, Capers, Olive Oil, Lemon Juice, and Parsley
  • Veggie Burger Sandwiches with 2 salads: Tomato and Cucumber Salad With Basil and Cilantro and Fresh Fava Beans and Asparagus Salad With Parsley

My nightstand is filled with the first pile of many motivating food-related books from the library:  The Art of Simple Food by Alice Waters, Cooking School Secrets for Real-World Cooks by Linda Carucci, and The Gourmet Vegetarian Slow Cooker by Lynn Alley.  That’s in case I find myself lacking inspiration from the fresh produce itself, from chatting with fellow farmers’ market shoppers, or from food-related blogs.

What have you been cooking lately?  Curious minds want to know …

2 thoughts on “On the dining-in road

  1. Glad you like how it sounds. It worked out really well as a dinner and as leftovers for lunch. The ‘Romanesco’ summer squash at the farmers’ market was suitable for stuffing because of its medium-large size; it isn’t quite as juicy as zucchini or the Mediterranean ‘Cousa’ squash, so it keeps its shape better when stuffed.

Leave a Reply

